Dropdown linked to another dropdown

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
JordanMaxim

Dropdown linked to another dropdown

Post by JordanMaxim »

Hi,

I am new to AwareIM. I apologise if this question has already been answered. I have spent hours searching previous forum post on this question but could not find the answer.

I have 2 dropdowns in my BO (Request Type & Change Type) the Change Type options / results are based on what is selected in the Request Type. Change Type has dynamic choices set which is linked through to a Query. The Query then has a Where clause based on the results of the Request Type dropdown.

Below is the Query Rule, CST05_SupportTickets is the record I am updating and BO_CST05_ChangeType is the record I am looking up.

FIND BO_CST05_ChangeType WHERE BO_CST05_ChangeType.RequestType=CST05_SupportTickets.CST05_RequestType

The CST05_SupportTickets is a Microsoft SQL Express 2016 External Tables, BO_CST05_ChangeType is an AwareIM table, they are not referenced tables.

I have tried turning on the "Save form when selection changes" option on the Request Type attribute, but this just saves the form, clears all the attributes and opens a new record. I don't mind if it saves the record but I would want it to remain on the record so the user can keep completing the remainder of the attributes.

AwareIM Version 7.1 (Build 2240)
Microsoft SQL Express 2016

I thank you in advance for any help that you can offer.
Regards
Jordan
pureist

Re: Dropdown linked to another dropdown

Post by pureist »

"but this just saves the form, clears all the attributes and opens a new record"

Sounds like there is now a bug with this option. It used to just save the form as you would expect. There's zero point in clearing the form.

There is a video tutorial on the Aware YouTube Channel about achieving what you want.