Configurator - memory leaks,

If you think that something doesn't work in Aware IM post your message here
Post Reply
ACDC
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Configurator - memory leaks,

Post by ACDC »

It's not fun when you have spent the morning making changes to your app and then suddenly the configurator bombs out as a result of an inherent memory leak that has prevailed for some time.

This results in all your work being lost even though you have been pressing the save button at every corner. The only way to prevent a loss of work is to put it under the test, this is the only way of securing your work. So don't be fooled by the current save button, its a false sense of security

Memory leaks of this nature should be resolved, the configurator reports numerous errors from time to time moving between forms setting up choices adding rows to choices etc etc . While they don't always lead to the configurator hanging, it is an indication of something lurking in the background.

If you have a large visual perspective with numerous menu items and proceed to make changes moving between items back and forth eventually you will get a java stack overflow error, and then you done, prepare to start all over. This is the one area that almost always leads to a memory leak error.
Last edited by ACDC on Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BobK
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:14 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Re: Configurator - memoy leaks,

Post by BobK »

ACDC wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:46 pmThe only way to prevent a loss of work is to put it under the test, this is the only way of securing your work.
NOT true. After saving do an UPDATE!

From the User Guide:
Updating Business Space Version
Any changes to a business space version have to be saved to the Aware IM server. If
you do not update the version data on the server your configuration changes will be lost
when you close the Configuration Tool (unless you export the version to a file and then
import it back next time you start the Configuration Tool – see Exporting Business Space
Version and Importing Business Space Version).
To update the version:
1. Click on the version you want to update in the Elements Tree to select it
2. Select “Version/Update” in the menu or right click to bring up the pop-up menu and
select “Update”.
Ctrl + U will also perform an update.

Even after a small change, I SAVE and UPDATE.

ACDC wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:46 pm Memory leaks of this nature should be resolved,
TOTALLY true
Bob
ACDC
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: Configurator - memory leaks,

Post by ACDC »

Even after a small change, I SAVE and UPDATE.
Yes, I have worked that out, once bitten ..how does that saying go about being bitten by a Dog.

Wishlist: one single save button, a really big one in the middle of all the editing panels (along side the FIND button), this way I can just hit the button at every corner.

Transitioning to the new UI from 7.1 has been a challenge for me, all this extra saving so you don't lose things is getting to me, its backward
From the User Guide:
aahh yes, the user guide, why didn't I see that :shock:
Last edited by ACDC on Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
aware_support
Posts: 7248
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: Configurator - memoy leaks,

Post by aware_support »

There are no memory leaks in Aware IM that we are aware of.
Aware IM Support Team
ACDC
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: Configurator - memory leaks,

Post by ACDC »

Code: Select all

There are no memory leaks in Aware IM that we are aware of.
Not True

If you go to the CRM sample and move menu items around, you eventually get this error, which looks like a memory leak :shock:
This will force a reboot of the system losing all your changes, unless of course you save after every minute change you make.
.
Attachments
memoy Leak.jpg
memoy Leak.jpg (140.76 KiB) Viewed 416 times
Last edited by ACDC on Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
aware_support
Posts: 7248
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: Configurator - memoy leaks,

Post by aware_support »

What specifically do you do when you "move menu items around"? Please describe in detail which buttons you press.
Aware IM Support Team
ACDC
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: Configurator - memoy leaks,

Post by ACDC »

What specifically do you do when you "move menu items around"? Please describe in detail which buttons you press.
Simply go to the menu and reconfigure the menu items by dragging and dropping menu items into a new position, also deleting some

I purposely did this to see if I could repeat the error, it took about 10 reposition moves and one or two delete actions - that's all
aware_support
Posts: 7248
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: Configurator - memory leaks,

Post by aware_support »

Thanks, this is not a memory leak - just a regular bug
Aware IM Support Team
Post Reply