I Think I Must Be Going Crazy :-|

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
customaware

I Think I Must Be Going Crazy :-|

Post by customaware »

I have been using Aware now for over 11 Years and no and again the simplest things make me start to question
my own sanity.....

For Example....

You have a Process called MyProcess that has two Rules

Rule1:
FIND MyBO WHERE MyBO.MyData = 'TEST' TAKE BEST 1
CallSubProcess

Rule2:
CREATE LogRecord WITH LogRecord.LogTimestamp = CURRENT_TIMESTAMP

So the stupidly simple question is....

If FIND MyBO WHERE MyBO.MyData = 'TEST' TAKE BEST 1 does NOT FIND any Records....

a. Does CallSubProcess get executed ?
b. Does Rule2 get executed ?

For those who are scratching their head wondering how I could be asking this... it has to do with Schedule Rules not triggering reliably.
Cheers,
Mark
kklosson

Re: I Think I Must Be Going Crazy :-|

Post by kklosson »

Have you reviewed the logs?
V8.8
MySQL, AWS EC2, S3
PDFtk Toolkit
Jaymer

Post by Jaymer »

I've never done it that way.
I'll break Rule 1 into 2 Rules and use SEARCH_COUNT > 0 (or SEARCH_COUNT = 1) to call the subtask.

But as to the brain teaser:
a) I'd say it always calls the subtask, but since thats ambiguous (pending tests), I'd examine logs or not worry about it since I'd be using SEARCH_COUNT
b) yes, always creates the Log.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum. Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
hpl123

Post by hpl123 »

I would think both are executed no matter what as you don't have any conditional parts in there. I could be wrong though.
Henrik (V8 Developer Ed. - Windows)
PointsWell

Post by PointsWell »

I have mused over this one before and committed myself to use IF SEARCH_COUNT as the stage gate to my sub processes. I then forget every time.