Remove Border on Form Separator

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
Post Reply
chris29
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:45 am
Location: Australia

Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by chris29 »

I am trying to remove borders from the separators on a form.

I have tried to use a custom css style and class option in the separator but this seems to have no effect. Is there an easier way of achieving this with scripts?
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (9.57 KiB) Viewed 15915 times
Version 8.5 - Windows using MySql 8 and SQL Server - 64bit
Jaymer
Posts: 2520
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jaymer »

easy.
long ago I created "nosep" CSS.
Just enter "nosep" as the Class and remove your style settings.

Code: Select all

.nosep { border: 0px; 	padding: 0px; 	 }
.nosep .aw-fieldset  {
	margin-top: 0px!important;
    margin-bottom: 0.7em!important;
	border: 0px  !important;}
.nosep .aw-fieldset-legend  {
	margin-bottom: 0em !important;  }
As you have discovered, you MUST use a separator sometimes.
So this removes the line around it, and tightens space.
I see you are actually using text in the Sep, so you might want to add some styling back in or adjust the padding. Just play with it.

--> JaymerTip
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum. Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
chris29
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:45 am
Location: Australia

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by chris29 »

Thank you for your help, it works great.
Version 8.5 - Windows using MySql 8 and SQL Server - 64bit
gernotlg
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 1:24 am

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by gernotlg »

Gold. Thanks Jaymer.
V8.8 / Windows / MySQL
Jhstephenson
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:44 pm

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jhstephenson »

Jaymer, we had something similar to your 'nosep' that worked like that until version 9.

Now we get lines at the top of each separator.

Any thoughts on what might have changed?

It appears to us like something further up the ladder is over-riding our border-width setting.

Jim
hpl123
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:13 pm
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by hpl123 »

Jhstephenson wrote: Wed Jun 05, 2024 10:21 pm Jaymer, we had something similar to your 'nosep' that worked like that until version 9.

Now we get lines at the top of each separator.

Any thoughts on what might have changed?

It appears to us like something further up the ladder is over-riding our border-width setting.

Jim
I am not on v9 yet so haven´t seen this but the first thing you can do is set "!important" after all CSS styles in your classes which will most likely fix this. If not, something else is probably overriding it as you said and then you can try other things like changing the border color to transparent and see if that fixes this etc. etc..
Henrik (V8 Developer Ed. - Windows)
Jaymer
Posts: 2520
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jaymer »

Jim,
Other things broke,
but I don't recall having to do anything to "nosep"

Just checked.
this screen uses 5 "nosep"s on it.
I think its the exact code as originally posted:

Code: Select all

.nosep { border: 0px; 	padding: 0px; 	 }
.nosep .aw-fieldset  {
	margin-top: 0px!important;
    margin-bottom: 0.7em!important;
	border: 0px  !important;}
.nosep .aw-fieldset-legend  {
	margin-bottom: 0em !important;  }
Screenshot 2024-06-05 at 8.04.01 PM.png
Screenshot 2024-06-05 at 8.04.01 PM.png (167.64 KiB) Viewed 8508 times
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum. Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Jhstephenson
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:44 pm

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jhstephenson »

Henrik, we have !Important on it.


Jaymer,

I put you 'nosep' in my css file just as you had it on the original post and here is what I get:
Image
Screenshot 2024-06-05 185911.png
Screenshot 2024-06-05 185911.png (63.93 KiB) Viewed 8501 times
The only difference is that with your css the margin is slightly smaller than the one I usually use.

The separators are above 'Customer: W/O ID:', 'Entered By: xxxxxxxx Status: xxxxxxxx Priority: xxxxx', and there are two above 'Initial Contact Date'.
Jaymer
Posts: 2520
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jaymer »

Ahhh
That’s because of the differences in the themes.
I use blue opal, and they discontinued that.
So I copied my blue opal over and renamed it as Classic opal or some thing crazy.
I was kind of panicking because I installed over a weekend & I had two different apps running on this server and both of them were trashed.
But I’d have to look at that personally to solve that for you.
Which I’m glad to do, but too hard to do without physically looking at the theme.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum. Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
hpl123
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:13 pm
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by hpl123 »

Jhstephenson wrote: Thu Jun 06, 2024 1:01 am Henrik, we have !Important on it.


Jaymer,

I put you 'nosep' in my css file just as you had it on the original post and here is what I get:
ImageScreenshot 2024-06-05 185911.png

The only difference is that with your css the margin is slightly smaller than the one I usually use.

The separators are above 'Customer: W/O ID:', 'Entered By: xxxxxxxx Status: xxxxxxxx Priority: xxxxx', and there are two above 'Initial Contact Date'.
Ok, I didn´t look thoroughly on your classes (just saw the top class not having !important). If you know how to tinker using the browser inspector, you can try to find the "offender" and also solution to this.
Henrik (V8 Developer Ed. - Windows)
Jhstephenson
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:44 pm

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jhstephenson »

We found the offending css:

.aw-fieldset-legend {
border-bottom: 1px solid #afafaf !important;
width: 100% !important;
margin-bottom: 1em !important;
}

Unchecking the "border-bottom: 1px solid #afafaf !important;" in Developer tools removes those lines.

So, I thought I could just add 'border-bottom: 0px !important;' to nosep, but it doesn't make any difference; the lines still show up.
Jhstephenson
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:44 pm

Re: Remove Border on Form Separator

Post by Jhstephenson »

Nevermind. I got it.

I just needed to add it to nosep .aw-fieldset-legend
Post Reply